*Excerpt from Spring 1997 The Appaloosa magazine:

On February 15, 1997, Werner Paysen was honored by the Saskatchewan Appaloosa Horse Club on being the 4th Inductee into the ApHCC Hall of Fame. This had been done officially at the November national Directors Meeting at Prince George, BC., but was celebrated at the local club's Awards Night in Regina.

Werner Paysen has been an active member of the National Club for more than forty years. He has held various positions such as director at both provincial and National levels and at present is both a respected judge and inspector. He and his lovely wife Edna, bought their first Appaloosa stallion in 1952 and its been Appaloosas ever since. Many Paysen horses have found their way to the winner's circle over the years.

Werner was also instrumental in organizing the Saskatchewan Club with their first meeting held in Chaplin, SK. He also helped get the Saskatchewan 4-H Light Horse Club off and running. Werner's contributions to the horse world are numerous.

Several members of the Saskatchewan club spoke at the ceremony relating their own special memories of the Paysen family. Such memories included the years of hard work to get the Appaloosa where it is now, the fun shows at Central Butte, the encouragement given to get other judges active, the hours of chap making for our youth teams, and in general, the good times that ere held anytime, anywhere that Werner and Edna were present.

The evening concluded with presentations to Werner shown in the center of the photo below, by Wayne Hutchinson on behalf of the Saskatchewan club (at left in photo below) and by National Director Gary Shinkewski (at right in photo below) for the ApHCC.

Congratulations to Werner Paysen on his induction into the ApHCC Hall of Fame.

James Wyatt | Grant MacEwan | Jo Warren | Patchy's Jr. Lila Gleska | BCA Flyin Higher
Werner Paysen | Winston Bruce | Speckel Boy | Three Bars Queen | Irene Wyatt | Bill Lucas
Wapiti's Senor | Edith Caston | Dari Maid | Sir Plaudi | Demyens | Hall Of Fame Home | ApHCC